Scientific Advisory Board

Michael MacCoss, Ph.D.

Dr. MacCoss is Professor of Genome Sciences at the University of Washington. His lab has focused on the development and application of mass spectrometry-based technologies for the high throughput characterization of complex protein mixtures. Realizing that software was a major limitation in proteomics, Dr. MacCoss has established a major software engineering effort within his group at the University of Washington. Their laboratory’s software (Skyline) is noted for its robustness, versatility and user friendliness, and has been adopted by all six major mass spectrometry vendors. Dr. MacCoss and his team continually work to improve their tools, provide documentation, and support a community around their software and methodology. Dr. MacCoss has been working with mass spectrometry instrumentation since 1994. He obtained his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry with Professor Dwight Matthews at the at the University of Vermont in 2001, and completed his postdoctoral training with Professor John R. Yates III at The Scripps Research Institute. Professor MacCoss has been the recipient of several awards including the 2007 Presidential Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the 2015 Biemann Medal from the American Society for Mass Spectrometry, and the 2016 HUPO Award for Discovery in Proteomics Sciences. Professor MacCoss will provide consultation on mass spectrometry, instrument development, and clinical applications of LC-MS.

Gustavo Salem

A passionate believer in the power of creating great teams that are poised to win, Gus has been focused on the importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) in organizations that develop tools and enhance knowledge that improve precision medicine. Gus is Co-Founder and Managing Partner at Eureka Life Science LLC, a management consulting firm focuses on value creation for life science and diagnostics companies, and partners with venture capital and private equity firms as industrial advisor, conducting M&A due diligence and providing strategy and commercial consulting for portfolio companies. Gus also brings experience in organizational development and implementation of business systems to drive DEI. His career spans over 30 years as a Senior Executive in Bio-Rad, Agilent, and IDEX, leading highly effective teams in the life science and clinical diagnostics markets. His operational experience includes P&L responsibilities of greater than $500M, product development and commercialization, manufacturing operations of consumables and capital equipment, and sales and marketing management. He is an excellent communicator and strategic leader with a strong track record of successfully bringing new technologies to market. Gus currently serves as the Chair of the Board of Directors at Liderança Group, and is Board Member at Olink Proteomics AB, Sengenics Ltd Pty, SISCAPA Assay Technologies, Inc., and IROA Technologies, LLC.

Jonathan Sweedler, Ph.D.

Prof. Sweedler is the James R. Eiszner Family Endowed Chair in Chemistry and the Director of the School of Chemical Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; he also has affiliations in Neuroscience, Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Bioengineering and Medicine. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Analytical Chemistry, an American Chemical Society Journal. Professor Sweedler received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from University of California at Davis in 1983 and his Ph.D. from University of Arizona in 1989. Prof. Sweedler is internationally renowned for his work in bioanalytical chemistry, and his research focuses on developing new approaches for assaying small volume samples, and in applying these methods to study novel interactions between cells. These analytical approaches include mass spectrometry, capillary separations, micro and nanofluidics, and NMR. He has used these tools to characterize small molecules and peptides in a range of animal models across the metazoan and in samples as small as individual cells and cellular domains. Sweedler has published more than 500 manuscripts and presented 500 invited lectures. Professor Sweedler will provide consultation on analytical chemistry, neuroscience, and single cell analysis.

Glenn Takayama, MBA

Mr. Takayama is currently the CEO and founder of PathCom Systems, a company that designs and manufactures robotic liquid handling equipment and also develops and manufactures reagents used on the equipment. He has also founded, ran, and sold two other biotech companies in the Bay Area. He has worked for companies in Telecommunications Electronics, Aerospace and Computer Electronics before going into the Biotech field. He has experience in M&A, regulatory, accounting, engineering, manufacturing, materials, sales & marketing, and facilities design and construction. Mr. Takayama has a BS in Engineering and MBA from the University of California, Berkeley. He will provide consultation on instrument development and commercialization, as well as regulatory approval processes and documentations.